01
Apr
10

The Cancer Bus

 

This is a special bus.

On its sides are feelings and emotions from many cancer survivors. The Cancer bus. I’ve ridden the cancer bus several times. Not literally but definitely figuratively. Once in the fall of 2003 for about a year, a quick hop on and hop off in 2005 and recently starting November 2009 to the present.

 It is not a pleasant ride. The fare is almost always very costly. Often the destination is not clear. As one rides, one does everything within their power to avoid going to the end-of-the-line. We want to get off the bus at the Party-Of-Life bus stop and with a little luck, hard work and the grace of God, some of us do. But this is a ride one never forgets and it is a ride that no one wants to repeat.

 A couple of months ago I posted an entry about the Medicare Coverage Gap, lovingly referred to as the Donut Hole. Actually that was the beginning of my most recent bus ride. My fare for this ride was my upper left lung lobe. Now that I’ve paid my literal pound of flesh I am vigorously pulling the cord to open the doors. Post ride recuperation will include lots of walking and playing the saxophone to rebuild lost lung capacity. I’ve already started both activities in earnest. It will be another week or two before I think I can strap on my full nature photography backpack and go for a day shooting in the woods but I’ve started taking the G9 on my walks and seeing what I can find. As for music, I have already booked two concerts and a children’s program in April and I am determined to be ready.

 A survivor generally hates cancer. Look carefully at the comments on the bus. (Click an image once to see it larger and a second time for full screen.) A survivor knows the incredible amount of strength, courage and determination it takes to battle cancer and win. A survivor also knows that unwanted as it may be, cancer sometimes returns. The important thing to remember and embrace is that whether you are on the Cancer bus or not, TODAY is the most important day there ever was. Use it happily and wisely now. I am striving daily to do exactly that.

1 Response to “The Cancer Bus”


  1. April 2, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Thank you for posting this dear Arni C! My younger brother is dealing with prostate cancer, my mother is a lung cancer survivor who now is facing serious complications from the radiation (heart disease), and including yourself, I can think of seventeen dear friends who have either died, or are facing, or have survived (for now) this dreadful disease… and I have a very small circle of friends! Thank you for the wise words and inspiration… I will be sure to share it.
    Big love, dz.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Copyright Notice

All Photographic Images ©Arni Cheatham, Segami Images and Eyes and Ears, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Preview “What Makes Me Click”

A Partial Answer to...
By Arni Cheatham

