10
Apr
09

Seen one of these before?

 

 

 

Ring-necked duck

Ring-necked duck

It’s truly remarkable how much a developing passion for Bird Photography will serve to illuminate how shabby our observational skills really are. I’ve frequented dozens of New England area Nature Preserves, Reservations, Sanctuaries, Sea Shores and the like. I will admit that early on, I was more focused on seascape, landscape type images rather than specific avian focused images. Still, one would think that some measure of dedicated observation would lead one to identify and recall a number of species specific details if even just on a casual “I’ve seen one of those before” kind of recollections. Yet this spring has brought a number of real revelations. Let me explain…

I have recently graduated to the exalted world of “Big Glass” owners. “Big Glass” is defined loosely as lenses of 500mm focal length or greater and the defining characteristics are a physical lens length greater than your extended forearm and hand, weight of 8 to 13 lbs, front lens element the size of a tea saucer or greater and finally, cost equivalent to the purchase price of a reasonable used car. Now please understand that I bought mine used, however the purchase price still had four digits and the first digit was not a one.

 

Naturally having made such an investment, the next agenda item is to find a host of subjects that will be rendered stunningly by this premium optic. And so I went on a guided excursion at Broadmoor Wildlife Sanctuary two weeks ago. The star of the show for me was the Hooded Merganser. A distinctive bird, the males of which have a beautiful white patch on the side of their black head. With the help of our guide we were able to spot a few “Hoodies” as they are lovingly referred to by birders. Alas however the specimens we spotted were very distant, a mere spec even when viewed with relatively powerful binoculars. I thought that with a little perseverance and separate from the somewhat noisy group, I could get a closer view and so the next day I returned. I took a walk around a soggy path with my lens and tripod, determined to get a better look. With a little effort I got to a location somewhat closer to where we had spotted the activity the day before and which gave me a closer look at a group of duck family birds. In this group I saw several beautiful birds but they were absent the white side patch that identifies the Hoodies. Still, my philosophy is shoot now and get the ID later so I captured a fair number of frames of these also gorgeous birds whose bills were outlined in white as if someone had taken a white magic marker and drawn along the bills edge. Three bird reference books later I had identification – these were Ring-necked Ducks.

 

Two days later at Great Meadows, what should I see? Off in the distance, 143 Ring-necked Ducks. (The count courtesy of a professional bird monitor for the wildlife reservation.) And since then, I’ve seen Ring-necked Ducks all over the place.. Now as long as I’ve been shooting nature, is it possible that I’ve never seen a Ring-necked Duck until this year? Or is it more likely that since I wasn’t paying attention to the various details, that I’ve just been lumping them in with Mallard Drakes and Hens that I was already familiar with? You know, “General Waterfowl”.

 

As for the past, I guess I’ll never really know if I’ve seen one of these before but I now really know a Ring-necked Duck when I see one and the Hooded Meganser as well. You see, a few days later I found a particularly compliant “Hoodie” who allowed me an opportunity to take his portrait. I think the truth is that birding IS the study of ever increasing levels of detail and in so doing; we learn the joy of seeing.

 

Hooded Merganser

Hooded Merganser

4 Responses to “Seen one of these before?”


  1. 1 Marc
    April 15, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Nice work. I especially like the last line and the ecstatic hoodie. The ring-necked duck is one of those with an extra air of mystery, perhaps owing to its confusing name. The rusty ring around its neck is generally discernible only at extremely close range. Those who named it would have been looking closely at one they’d just shot.

  2. 2 Ann Grace
    April 15, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Thank you for these great photos and thoughtful musings that extend what you have seen to our own little worlds. Hoodie as metaphor for every other treasure that we see and overlook?

  3. 3 Carole D.
    April 25, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Arni…

    The picture of the “hoodie” took my breath away. Just beautiful. Thank you for sharing.
    XXOO

  4. 4 Kathy Cooper
    May 11, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    How regal & elegant your Ring-Necked Duck is; while the Hooded Merganser seems more sporty, adorned in such vividly patterned plumage. The Big Glass is well placed in the reverent hands of a faithful and respectful observer! Carry on Arni!


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Copyright Notice

All Photographic Images ©Arni Cheatham, Segami Images and Eyes and Ears, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Preview “What Makes Me Click”

A Partial Answer to...
By Arni Cheatham

